Skip to main content

BC Curriculum-Learning Areas

B.C.'s new curriculum

The updated B.C. curriculum developed for K-12 education is now fully phased in at Surrey schools.

While teachers in kindergarten to Grade 9 have been using the fully implemented new curriculum, teachers in Grades 10 to 12 will also now be fully implementing the new curriculum during the 2019-20 school year, if they haven't been already.

You can view the B.C. Graduation Program Implementation Guide here. It details what has changed, what is staying the same, curriculum and course structures, as well as progress reporting, graduation requirements and new assessments.

General information from the provincial government about the new curriculum can be found HERE.

Changes to assessment and exams

The provincial exams formerly required for graduation are being replaced by three provincial assessments that focus on literacy and math skills. While they are required for graduation, they are broad-based and not tied to a course mark.

The numeracy assessment has been in place since January 2018. Students are expected to take it in their Grade 10 year.

A literacy assessment for Grade 10 students is available as of November 2019, and a Grade 12 Graduation Literacy Assessment will be introduced in the 2020/21 school year.

For younger students, standardized tests of reading, writing and numeracy (called Foundation Skills Assessment or FSAs) will still take place in Grades 4 and 7 and be administered in October and November.

Where can I get more information?

The Ministry of Education has a wealth of information about the new curriculum on its B.C.s New Curriculum website.

Some specific links parents may find helpful are:

image description
Back to top