Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

New Curriculum
New Curriculum

B.C.'s new curriculum

The updated B.C. curriculum developed for K-12 education continues to be phased in at Surrey schools.

While teachers in kindergarten to Grade 9 are now using the fully implemented new curriculum, teachers in Grades 10 to 12 have been using, or can start using, the new approach on a trial basis to prepare for implementation by the 2019-20 school year. (An additional year was added to the secondary level transition as per a November 2017 letter from Education Minister Rob Fleming). 

Information from the provincial government about the new curriculum can be found HERE.

Why a new curriculum?

The world has become much different since the original curriculum was developed. New technologies enable access to a wealth of information on virtually any topic. Today's students need to learn skills to successfully locate, analyze and evaluate information, then apply it in a proper and useful way.

The emphasis now is more on understanding concepts and processes, as well as a personalized learning experience and flexibility to better match individual student strengths and needs, as described in B.C.'s Education Plan.

What has changed?

  • There is more flexibility for teachers to tailor learning to a student's needs and passions.
  • There is also increased flexibility for teacher innovation; for example, to take advantage of current topics of interest to students and to develop learning experiences that cross different subject areas.
  • There is greater focus on communication, creative/critical thinking, positive personal and cultural identity and social responsibility as core competencies.
  • Aboriginal perspectives and content are integrated into all subjects.
  • There is an emphasis on core foundational skills while focusing on higher-level conceptual thinking.

Changes to assessment and exams

The provincial exams formerly required for graduation are being replaced by two provincial assessments that focus on literacy and math skills. Both are required for graduation, but are broad-based and not tied to a course mark.

The first numeracy assessment was administered in January 2018.

The first literacy assessment is now scheduled to be introduced in January 2020.

For younger students, standardized tests of reading, writing and numeracy (called Foundation Skills Assessment or FSAs) will still take place in Grades 4 and 7 and be administered in October and November.

Where can I get more information?

The Ministry of Education has a wealth of plain-language information about the new curriculum on its Building Student Success website. Some specific links parents may find helpful are:
Session info
Time: 8/17/2019 10:51:02 PM
Host: AS78
Ref# 35153