Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

News Skip Navigation LinksTwo Surrey schools are provincial basketball champions

Mar 17
Two Surrey schools are provincial basketball champions

​Two Surrey schools will return from spring break with banners proclaiming them provincial basketball champions.


(The victorious Fleetwood Park Dragons)

The Fleetwood Park Dragons roared back from an early game deficit to beat the top-ranked Sir Charles Tupper Tigers 73-65 and claim the B.C. High School Boys AAA Championship at the Langley Events Centre on March 14. Fleetwood Park’s Travis Erikson was named championship player of the game, while teammate Emeka Okuma was named MVP and a first team all-star. The Dragons’ Armaan Khangura was a second team all-star.

(The winning Panorama Ridge Thunder team)

A week earlier, the Panorama Ridge Thunder rolled over the Lord Tweedsmuir Panthers 54-35 to win the battle of the Surrey schools for the Telus Junior Girls Provincial Basketball Championship. The Panthers’ Maryn Budiman and the Thunder’s Simrat Dosanjh were named championship players of the game. The tournament MVP was Savannah Dhaliwal of Panorama Ridge, while teammate Shelvin Grewal made the first team all-stars and Dosanjh the second team all-stars. Budiman and Ansha Odoom from Lord Tweedsmuir made the first team all-stars.

In the senior girls' AAA, Fleetwood Park came 12th and the Elgin Park Orcas 14th.

Lord Tweedsmuir came 7th in the senior boys’ AAAA in their first appearance back at the provincial championship for 63 years. The Panthers’ Brett Norris was named most inspirational player. The Semiahmoo Totems finished 8th and had Elias Ellison named a second team all-star.

The Tamanawis Wildcats finished 8th in the junior boys and Darius Ballou was named a third team all-star.


There are no comments for this post.

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Blog Tools