Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

News Skip Navigation LinksTurn it off before you take off for spring break

Mar 04
Turn it off before you take off for spring break

Spring Break_news.jpg 

Surrey Schools’ winter campaign urging staff to 'Turn if off before you take off' was a major success with 76 schools and centres taking part.

Overall, Surrey Schools' December 2014 electricity consumption was down 4.6 per cent compared to December 2013, saving the district about $15,000. Efforts to turn off and unplug electrical items made up a significant portion of those savings.

Now, the district is urging to staff to once again turn off and unplug electrical items where possible to reduce phantom power use while schools are closed for spring break. Phantom power is the small amount of energy drawn by electronic devices even when they’re not being used. The same rules regarding what can be turned off and what can be unplugged that applied during the winter break also apply this time. (Link requires staff login)

The following schools and centres took part in the winter break 'Turn it off before you take off' campaign:

​A.H.P. Matthew Elementary​Frank Hurt Secondary​North Surrey Secondary
​Adams Road Elementary​Frost Road Elementary​Ocean Cliff Elementary
​Beaver Creek Elementary​George Greenaway Elementary​Old Yale Road Elementary
​Bonaccord Elementary​Georges Vanier Elementary​Panorama Ridge Secondary
​Boundary Park Elementary​Green Timbers Elementary​Panorama Park Elementary
​Brookside Elementary​Guildford Learning Centre​Prince Charles Elementary
​Cedar Hills Elementary​Guildford Park Secondary​Queen Elizabeth Secondary and Adult Education Centre
​Chimney Hill Elementary​H.T. Thrift Elementary​Riverdale Elementary
​Cindrich Elementary​Hall's Prairie Elementary​Rosemary Heights Elementary
​Clayton Heights Secondary​Henry Bose Elementary​Semiahmoo Secondary
​Coast Meridian Elementary​Hillcrest Elementary​Senator Reid Elementary
​Colebrook Elementary​Hjorth Road Elementary​Simon Cunningham Elementary
​Cougar Creek Elementary​Hyland Elementary​Strawberry Hill Elementary
​Creekside Elementary​Janice Churchill Elementary​Sullivan Heights Secondary
​Crescent Park Elementary​Jessie Lee Elementary​Sunnyside Elementary
​David Brankin Elementary​K.B. Woodward Elementary​Sunrise Ridge Elementary
​District Education Centre​Kirkbride Elementary​Surrey Centre Elementary
​Don Christian Elementary​Kwantlen Park Secondary​Surrey Traditional School
​Dr. F.D. Sinclair Elementary​L.A. Matheson Secondary​Surrey/White Rock Learning Centre
​Earl Marriott Secondary​Latimer Road Elementary​T.E. Scott Elementary
​Elgin Park Secondary​Martha Jane Norris Elementary​Tamanawis Secondary
​Ellendale Elementary​Mary Jane Shannon Elementary​Walnut Road Elementary
​Enver Creek Secondary​Morgan Elementary​White Rock Elementary
​Erma Stephenson Elementary​Mountainview Montessori​Woodland Park Elementary
​Fleetwood Park Secondary​Newton Elementary​Woodward Hill Elementary
​Forsyth Road Elementary


There are no comments for this post.

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Blog Tools